Utopia? Paradise?

Please answer the following questions by posting your answers below. 

• Which place and time did your group choose as a utopia or paradise? Why did your group choose this time and place (or, why was your group unable to choose one place and time)? 

• What lifestyle is perfect in this place and time? What kind of marriage? How many children? What kind of jobs do the people have? What are the cultural values of this place? etc. 

• Do you think a Utopia is possible in reality? Please explain. Also, why do people say that Hawaii is a paradise (a utopia)? Do you agree?

• Search for interesting information about “utopia” or “paradise” on the Internet and shares some links with the rest of the class. What does the Internet think about utopias? 

23 thoughts on “Utopia? Paradise?

  1. Our grope couldn’t choose because everyone said that their home town are the best place. We know that each of the places have a lot of nice things which only the people who live there know. This is why we couldn’t choose one place.

    In the case of my home town, the lifestyle which my grandparents experienced is perfect. Each couples had 6~10 children so the town was lively. Also, almost family had their own rice fields and everyone cooperated.

    I think utopia is impossible. Everyone has different desires so to make perfect utopia is very very difficult.

    I think Hawaii isn’t a paradise. Sometimes I feel stress because of the bus or homeless. As long as I feel stress, I can’t say Hawaii is a paradise.

    http://www.utopiaanddystopia.com/utopia/utopian-society/
    http://www.veronicasicoe.com/blog/2013/04/utopia-and-dystopia-the-many-faces-of-the-future/

  2. • Which place and time did your group choose as a utopia or paradise? Why did your group choose this time and place (or, why was your group unable to choose one place and time)?
    We choose Japan as a utopia around 50 years ago.

    • What lifestyle is perfect in this place and time? What kind of marriage? How many children? What kind of jobs do the people have? What are the cultural values of this place? etc.
    Japanese economy was growing. Everybody had a job and tried working very hard. Many women stayed house and did house work. There were many children like more than 2. I think the most people had jobs to spur Japanese industrial growth.

    • Do you think a Utopia is possible in reality? Please explain. Also, why do people say that Hawaii is a paradise (a utopia)? Do you agree?
    I think a Utopia is a place where people do not have to do anything and just relax. I think a Utopia is not possible in reality because there are so many useful things in developed country, so it brings people there good and bad things. For example; computer is very useful but if people bring the computer to Utopia, the place will not be Utopia anymore. It will bring good and bad things. Computer makes people feel busy. On the other hand, maybe people in developing country can feel Utopia easier because they do not know much about what is convenient and useful.
    I do not think Hawaii is a paradise. I like Hawaii but it is not a paradise. There are too many tourist. They destroy Hawaiian cultures.

    • Search for interesting information about “utopia” or “paradise” on the Internet and shares some links with the rest of the class. What does the Internet think about utopias?
    http://web-japan.org/trends/09_food/jfd110210.html
    Many people think Paradise is a place where warm but this article said the beautiful snow is utopia. That kinds of idea is interesting.

  3. ・Which place and time did your group choose as a utopia or paradise?
    → We chose “New Zealand” as a utopia or a paradise because it has countries and cities, its climate is good and warm, people are very kind, and it has no war.

    ・What lifestyle is perfect in this place and time? What kind of marriage? How many children? What kind of jobs do the people have? What are the cultural values of this place? etc.
    → I don’t know about the life in New Zealand. According to the information I searched, However, it says that, though the average income is not high, most people in New Zealand work well and are satisfied with their lives.

    ・ Do you think a Utopia is possible in reality? Please explain. Also, why do people say that Hawaii is a paradise (a utopia)? Do you agree?
    → I think there are no utopia all over the world. This is because I think that human’s desires has no limits, and people can’t be satisfied with their lives.
    People often say, “Hawaii is a paradise.”, but I don’t think so. I think that they can say that because they come to Hawaii for a short term as their vacation. For the vacation, Hawaii is very good place, I think.

    ・Search for interesting information about “utopia” or “paradise” on the Internet and shares some links with the rest of the class. What does the Internet think about utopias?
    http://mccabe.net.nz/not-quite-utopia-real-life-in-new-zealand/
    This cite says that New Zealand isn’t a utopia. This is an opposite opinion with us. It’s interesting.

  4. 1, we chose Kyoto in these days. it is because they have 4 seasons, it is safe place and we can see modern city and old traditional side in kyoto. it is also because they have good food.

    2,one couple and two kids. kids are both boy and girl. they live in nice house and has a car. they have family time at least once a week like at the dinner table. wife stays home and takes care of children. husband is rich one and noone worrys about money. and NO CHEATING.

    3,I dont think so because we feel happy because we have feeling of unhappy so there aren’t any place where can people make happy all the time. Hawaii is not a paradise. there are too many homeless people and not safe all the time. people think it is a paradise because they only see a pretty side.

    4,http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/alanismorissette/utopia.html

  5. • My group choose Kyoto, Japan as a utopia or paradise. And time is now, because they have 4 seasons; Spring, Summer, fall and Winter. And it is very safe in Kyoto. I grew up in Kyoto but I never felt scared in my life. Also they have a combination of modern and traditional in a city. For example, there are lots of cultural assets and modern buildings. And transportation in Kyoto is great. There are taxi, subway, bus, train and Jinrikisha. Lastly, the food in Kyoto is fantastic. Kyoto has a sense of taste in their food.

    • A couple with 2 kids; a younger boy and an older girl. (Actually, I want 4 kids, because I want children to help each other.) And they have a car, live in a nice house, have a family time or dinner time and do a family trip every year. And also, wife stays home and takes care their children. Husband works outside and earns enough money to spend a good life. And make sure he loves his wife and he never do cheating. This is the perfect family life.

    • I think a Utopia isn’t possible in reality, because everyone have some problems in life. It never be perfect. Not all of the rich family is happy. Not all of the poor family is unhappy. People have good things and bad things together. And people say that Hawaii is a paradise, but I don’t agree with it. Before I came here, I thought the same way but, I noticed that there is a huge gap between the rich and the poor in Hawaii. This is not a paradise.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shangri-La

  6. • My group chose Tokyo of 50 years ago, because Tokyo opened the Olympic game at that time. My group though that Tokyo was very exciting and economics was good. No one worry job search or money.

    • Most of all every one didn’t worry about job, because economics grew up very highly. In my opinion, in this time, every one could get a rich life and happy. However, I don’t have information exactly about the time of Tokyo Olympic.

    • I think it’s impossible because human being has tremendous troubles, for example, diseases, poverty, death, war, and so on. Especially, people’s cupidity would injure each other. I think people choose a paradise as a great natural environment. In the point, Hawaii is almost a paradise, but human being is satisfied only nature. They urge to be satisfied a lot of cupidity. In the reason, Hawaii is not the perfect world yet but the happiest island in the world.

    • Check the definition
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Utopia
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paradise

    I thought what is the difference between paradise and Utopia and I searched some images about both. I got an interesting fact. When I searched “paradise”, there are many beautiful nature images or pictures. On the other hands, When I searched ” Utopia”, there are a lot of imaginary cities or worlds. I think this means people looking for paradise from nature and people think Utopia is a human society. In the result, I suppose that the perfect world is Utopia which is built in paradise.

  7. 1. Our group decided New Zealand because there are many advantages like climate is good, nature, people are kind, and peaceful.
    2. I like to live in Hawaii. Hawaii is perfect places however, here is very expensive and became crowded than in the past. Many people work here about tourism. They work and enjoy together. I am envy them. Most of people work hard and they can’t enjoy working. If I could get marry someone, I want to have many children and live here.
    3. I think people can find a Utopia their mind, if anything, we cannot find it real life. I think Hawaii is a paradise because there are a lot of nature and beautiful places. On the other hand, HI is very expensive so, some people said this is heaven tax.
    4. http://paradiseutopia.com
    I think this place is paradise for men. Because men feel utopia or paradise with beautiful girls.

  8. 1, I chose the suburbs of Tokyo in the 1980s. In this time, Japan was in a period of high economic growth and people were optimistic. Moreover, people were able to get a job easily. Suburbs has nature but not rural and is easy to go to a city.

    2, Father, mother and three children. A father is in a managing post and a mother is full-time housewife. Three children are cheerful and honest. They eat breakfast together and talk each other every day.

    3, I don’t think so. Utopia is an imaged and perfect place. Utopia does not exist so people image it. I don’t think Hawaii is a paradise because prices are high. Moreover, traffic in morning is crazy.

    4, http://quizfarm.com/quizzes/quiz/ceinna/whats-your-utopia

  9. *Our group chose San Francisco as a place we like because everyone in the group chose his hometown but we agreed about SF, and the time we chose is 50 year ago because everything was different such as the life cost.

    *Traditional family with two kids, the father is a business man and the mother is a home stay mother. They love each other and family always come first.

    *I believe that there is no utopia, because each city and time has his own negatives and positive, so we have to try to have fun and have a good life in everywhere because no place is special and no time is perfect. In my opinion Hawaii as a state I can’t say because I only saw this island, but if i will give my opinion about it, it is not a utopia of course, because it has a lot of negatives, but at the same time I like it (Nothing is perfect)

    Her is some interesting info about it http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Utopia.

  10. ・My group chose Tokyo and the time is about 50 years ago.Japan was developing rapidly I think it is interesting to see how the society changes. Moreover, people didn’t have to worry about their jobs. Also, Japan hold Tokyo Olympic game at that time. I guess that people were active and in a good mood.

    ・The father is a bulltet train driver because Tokaido Shinkansen was made for the olympic game and many people wanted to get the job. The mother is a homemaker. The couple has three children. The family has a color television.

    ・I don’t think a Utopia is possible in reality because there is no limit to desire. Food, climate, economy, and other many factors should be perfect in the Utopia. Many people say that Hawaii is a paradise, but I don’t think so. Hawaii can be a paradise if you live there just for a few weeks. You can enjoy the beautiful nature everyday. However, if you live there more than a month, you will feel bored. Also, Hawaii is not safe so much. Most people are kind and nice, but some people are bad. They look for tourists because tourists have a lot of money. In addition, there are a lot of homeless people in Hawaii.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Utopia
    Ecological utopian society describes new ways in which society should relate to nature. They react to a perceived widening gap between the modern Western way of living that destroys nature and the traditional way of living that is thought to be more in harmony with nature.

  11. 1. We chose Christchurch, New Zealand in 1983, because New Zealand has good natural environment.

    2.The family members are father, mother, and two children, and the job is stock farmer. I think, they have more free than the other jobs, and they have a social security system.

    3.I think a utopia is impossible in reality. If people do not have private property, it is possible. They want to get everything more than the others. If people cannot satisfy one’s desires, there cannot be a utopia anywhere.
    I think when a place was called paradise, it named by visitor. Residents do not feel like paradise if people that say paradise.

    “Want To Escape The Modern World? 9 ‘Utopias’ That Really Exist”
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/08/21/utopias_n_3768023.html

  12. 1.We chose Kyoto and the time is now. We chose Kyoto because four reasons:1. had four seasons 2. safe city 3. had modern house also had traditional houses. 4. good food and transportation.

    2. One couple and two kids (one girl and one boy). The girl older than the boy. They lived in a nice house and drive nice car. They had family time and family trip once a year. The wife stay at home and take care children. The husband was a rich person then he loves his wife and children forever. In their family, no cheating.

    3. I think a utopia is impossibe in reality. Because each country had different feature. They had good feature and bad feature. People think that Hawaii is a paradise because it had good ocean and weather. But I dont think so. Because Hawaii was too boring and lots of homeless. In my hometown, we had homeless but they cant live on the street. It might made people be danger.

    4.http://tw.images.search.yahoo.com/search/images?p=paradise&fr=yfp&fr2=piv-web

    in this photos, you can know that why people say Hawaii is a paradise. Because people think that had beautiful ocean was a paradise.

  13. 1. Our group chose Hokkaido, but we did not choose the time yet. It was difficult to choose common paradise.In my opinion, each person has different backgrounds and desiralbe place.
    As we know, we can not think same thing at the same time. I recommand Hokkaido to my group because I really want to go there and enjoy snowboarding. Hokkaido is my ideal place.

    2. I do not know about Hokkaido. I want to fine my utopia, so I thought I really like winter and enjoy the winter sports. In the future , of course, I should get my new family as I get married with my wife. My ideal family is two kids older sister and younger brother. My ideal job is bank worker. This job is unstable, but i respect my father’s job. This reason makes me want to become a bank worker.

    3. Utopia is possible in reality. Everybody has an ideal place, and they can find their ideal place like Hawaii. Utopia is the place that someone wants to escape the reality and go there.
    Many people think Hawaii is a paradise. In my opinion, here is kind of the paradise. Here has a perfect weather and peaceful. Hawaii can make people happy to do leisure sports. Especially, the nature makes people stable and peaceful.

    4. http://lenonhonor.com/preparing-for-post-pregnancy-paradise/
    The man thinks that the paradise is not far from our location. Paradise is defined as a place in which existence is positive, harmonious and timeless. I think so. As my opinion, Hawaii is the nearest paradise for me. I am enjoying the Hawaiian life. Here makes me positive, hamonious and timeless. I want to be here forever.

  14. 1,The paradise places guessed in Hokkaido in my group, because when people can experience the paradise, they can relax there. Hokkaido is all delicious not only meat but also seafood. It can experience the nature of the four seasons. And household goods and foods are cheaper without gift items.

    2,Usually,we have stress in ourselves, so ,in my group, getting relax=perfect life. Personally, If I do unusual life, I shall do exciting life every time. That’s eating delicious foods. In Hokkido, we can eat sea urchin eggs , salmon roe, and Mongolian mutton barbecue everyday. I ate fresh meat of bear. ,

    3,I think that a utopia is impossible and possible cases of both in reality. Also, In nature, the Utopia one of the people made in websight saled for realesatet in reality when global economic was groeing. I think that Hawaii is paradise for tourist because they can experience unusual eciting by sightseen.

    4,I’m an intereseted utopia that stat at ocean. I can relax in ocean (Relax =exciting →feeling is Utopia) I want to swim dolphin and turtle in deep ocean.
    http://matome.naver.jp/odai/2127259375163152101/2127260754963507103

  15. We chose Hokkaidou in Japan. We want to live now because it is very convinience and comfortable to live. We need tecnology, we cannot image without it. Hokkaidou is very huge and there are a lot of nature. We love eating seafood, It is very fresh and cheep in Hokkaidou.

    I think if we live one place longer, it is best to live between countryside and cityside. In cityside is always busy and there are many people. On the otehr hand, countryside is nothig to do. When you want to get someting, you have to drive long hour. It is very trouble
    I want to marry with person who love me and family. I want 2 children. I want to stay home as housewife so maybe husbad supposut to be like rich man such as doctor or lawyer.

    I do not think Utopia is not possibe in reality. Because if we live longer, we can see some negative point to live. I think tourrist or on vacation in Hawaii is paradise but to live is not.
    Hawaii is very hot and sometimes we saw stranger like using drugs or homeless. This is very scary. Anyplce to travel is like paradaise but if you live, that place is not goona be paradaice.

    http://www.askmen.com/top_10/travel/fine-living-top-10-paradises-on-earth_1.html

  16. • Which place and time did your group choose as a utopia or paradise? Why did your group choose this time and place (or, why was your group unable to choose one place and time)?

    We chose Christchurch in New Zealand in 30 years ago. Because I wanted to go the place which has beautiful nature and not so many people like country side. Also the reason why we chose 30years ago is that the time is still comfortable for humans with technology. If we go back much longer time ago, we can’t live comfortably.

    • What lifestyle is perfect in this place and time? What kind of marriage? How many children? What kind of jobs do the people have? What are the cultural values of this place? etc.

    Marriaged couple, two children and a dog. I think children make us happy, so we need children, also children should be 2, because if children is only one, the kid will be sad and two kids can make more fun.

    • Do you think a Utopia is possible in reality? Please explain. Also, why do people say that Hawaii is a paradise (a utopia)? Do you agree?

    I think is impossible. Because anyplace and anytime has problem. There is no place and time which is no problem and comfortable. I think we can find the place close by Utopia, but there is no completely Utopia. I think Hawaii is not Utopia and paradise. Before I came here, I hoped so, but my thinking differed form it. Because, Hawaii has many homeless people and many people. I think Utopia should be only nature and no people without problem.

    • Search for interesting information about “utopia” or “paradise” on the Internet and shares some links with the rest of the class. What does the Internet think about utopias?

    http://www.tomorrowsworld.org/magazines/2006/nov-dec/why-has-utopia-failed

  17. 1. Our group chose San Francisco in the U.S. because each people chose their hometown and we couldn’t know each place well. So we just chose SF and created story. Also, we chose 50 years ago, because we just took an average of all opinions.

    2. 2 children in a family. Husband works out and wife works in a house.

    3. I think utopia is possible in reality because I have an idea of my utopia. I think everyone has their own utopia and it’s difficult to mix up.
    I think Hawaii is paradise when people stay for a short time because everything is new, interesting and nice. However, the prices are not cheap. That’s why I think Hawaii can be paradise for a short time but can’t be it for a long time.

    4. http://www.tripadvisor.com/TravelersChoice-Destinations-cTop-g1

  18. 1. We chose San Francisco 50 years ago, because st first, we chose our hometowns, so we took the middle of them and chose SF. And we chose 50 years ago, because we think in 50 years ago, everything is cheaper than now.

    2.We think husband or wife, and 2 children is best. Husband is business man and wife is house wife.

    3. I think Utopia is impossible in reality. Because now, many people suffered many problems, such as poverty, unemployment, environmental pollution, and so on. There is no place which doesn’t have any problems. Hawaii is often said “utopia.” I think it is because the weather is very good, and because Hawaii has a lot of beautiful place. But I don’t think so. Indeed, Hawaii is very beautiful and good place to live or spend vacation. But in someplace, there are a lot of homeless people.

  19. ・ Our group chose Tokyo(suburb) in 1980s as a utopia. It is because in1980s was Japan’s rapid economic growth, so people can get a job easily and were positive. I think suburb is good to live because I can go to city easily but there is not so noisy and the price of land is not so high comparing with a city. Also there are some nature. Moreover, because of the new housing development, young people can settle comfortably.

    • In this place and time, I think ordinary lifestyle which is considered usual in Japan in 1980s is good. For example, the family member has a father, mother, and 2 or 3 children. Father is an office worker andmother is a housewife.

    • I think a Utopia is impossible in reality. It is because it is imagination world and just people’s desire. In real world, there are so many problems such as the gap between rich and poor, disputes, and enviromental disruptions.

    The reason why people say that Hawaii is a paradise is that they visit just beautiful places such as beaches and mountains as a tourist for short time. I disagree this idea because there is the gap between rich and poor. When I walking or riding on a bus around Wikiki, I can see many happy tourists and some homeless people. When I see this situation, I feel sad. I don’t think the place which has like this inequality is a paradise.

    http://www.conservapedia.com/Utopia

  20. 1. my group chose New Zealand of 30 years ago. we could not decide where is a utopia because we thought Hawaii was the best of paradise, so we talked about which country we want to go now. And then, i told i want to go to New Zealand because my parents intended to go there for their honeymoon but they could not go because of their jobs. So i told my group members i want to go their with my parents, and then we decided.

    2. the family has mother, father, two children, and a dog, and they live in countryside. mother and father grow vegetables and fruits in their big garden, and they do to city to sell them. the value of this period is every day is leisure time for people; it means people are not pressed for time and jobs.

    3. i think utopia is in reality; i mean people have utopia in their mind and i think it is utopia that someone feel this is utopia; for instance, it is utopia for a man that he spend with his family after finishing hard working, or it is utopia for me just to be alive. i think utopia is not one place, and maybe all people have experienced utopia in their mind; it shows there is utopia in present.

    4. http://james.wikidot.com/blog:12
    he says we can create utopia.

  21. ・We chose suburb of Tokyo in the 1980s because it was the era of the “bubble economy,” suburb is near from city and calm. And also, very enjoyable era, it was.
    ・Using a lot of money was good. Marriage was anyways but gender problem was more serious than now. Probably, 2 or 3 children are usual. Cultural value was to enjoy life.
    ・I cannot find a true Utopia because everywhere is affected by other place’s problem, so everywhere has problems. I can say just people spend time more freely, comparing other places, so they say Hawaii is a paradise.
    ・Many utopias are drown as mysterious places.
    https://www.google.com/search?q=utopia&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=I1GCUpD9MsX5igKjyoGYDg&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAQ&biw=1005&bih=602

  22. • What lifestyle is perfect in this place and time? What kind of marriage? How many children? What kind of jobs do the people have? What are the cultural values of this place? etc.
    I want to live in an urban city that has also a lot of nature of I can go to country easily. I want to marry a man who has same value with me. I don’t need children, but if I have to have, I want to have 2 children.

    • Do you think a Utopia is possible in reality? Please explain. Also, why do people say that Hawaii is a paradise (a utopia)? Do you agree?
    It can be possible if people don’t seek a lot of things. Any place can be Utopia for people. What we seek is different from people, so we cannot say where is a Utopia.
    Hawaii is not a paradise for me because I know how expensive to live here, and it might be boring to live forever for me. Hawaii is a paradise for visitors, I think.

  23. ・Our group couldn’t decide a utopia because we thought “my hometown is the best.” each other. I think only local people can know the good point of the place.

    ・I think my host family life is perfect!!!! My host mother and father had associated in their middle school and they married.Still now, they really get along. My host father works in the consulting company while my host mother retired a few months ago.They have three children.Also they enjoy reforming their house every Sunday together.

    ・I think to incarnate a utopia is impossible because profits create both a winner and a loser. It is not possible for everyone to feel satisfactory.
    Hawaii is one of the most comfortable place in the world, however, you know , there are lots of homeless. Also it’s not safe at night anywhere. So I can’t name Hawaii the perfect place Although it’s good place.

    ・http://www.bl.uk/learning/histcitizen/21cc/utopia/utopia.html
    It shows a utopia is changing for the time.I’m so interested in the research.

Write Something Here!

